Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Pe11e

When I was a rookie...

4 posts in this topic

I started remembering my first steps in FSX few years back,quite funny stuff I must admit.

After some simple GA flying with default Maule and C172, I decided to start flying some default jetliners, and later on some routes with my first ever purchase - Flight1 ATR 72.

These were some of my quirks:

- using reversers to start taxing from the gate, lol. laugh.png Later on when I found about towing trucks and pushback, and I thought "what kind of stupid pushback thing is this? Reversers are better!". laugh.png

- using VFR flight plans for all flights, even commercial flights with 737 and ATR! Left/right downwind with 737 is not a easy thing, I tell ya. LMAO.gif So literally every descent and approach was full manual, at least I learned to fly in a hard way. Also, ATC is not willing to help when you are flying VFR flightplans, I calculated TOD's manually, and yeah, sometimes I was at 10 000ft at 20nm from the airport. Passengers didn't loved these rollercoaster rides.

- never used autopilot's GPS/LOC modes, means I was fiddling with HDG knob during whole flight to follow flightplan. ph34r.png

- never used ILS because I didn't knew about it at all! I remember one approach and landing on LOWW with 500m visibility, that was the most frightening experience in FSX ever. Missed the runway by far and crashed, oh well. I mean, how can you land the 737 or any other jetliner using default GPS panel and lining the airplane with the feather. Yeah, you read it well, I knew about the ILS feathers but didn't knew about ILS, amazing. laugh.png

I'm sure there were more quirks, but can't remember them all.

I'm sure we would love to hear how you guys started your rookie days in FSX.